Powerful Words

There is a lot of power in words.

There are a lot of words that have stuck with me– the strongest of which are words of encouragement and words of reprimand (Mom– remember when I ran up the phone bill in high school because I didn’t realize how much it cost to talk to a boy in Spain everyday? haha).

Scripture tells us this, too.

A wise man’s heart guides his mouth, and his lips promote instruction.
Pleasant words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.
Proverbs 16:23-24


For my own sake I should probably type the entirity of James 3, but for your sake I’ll just type the summation:

From the same mouth come blessing and cursing. My brothers, these things out not be so. Does a spring pour forth from the same opening both fresh and salt water?
James 3:10-11


I am guilty in multiple cases over the last 24 hours of having both salt and fresh water coming out of my mouth. I hope to engrave these Scriptures on my spirit for the next time I’m in a Wal-Mart line, spending time with more “difficult” people, in the breakroom with co-workers and loving those around me. It’s true and illogical that my mouth would produce both cursing and blessing.

Join the process...

